Watching my kids, tearing around on their bikes. Seemingly with no nerves, little daredevils with one mission, to have fun. Unaware of their father standing nervously by, waiting for disaster to strike. And, of course, occasionally it does. After all, it wouldn’t be childhood without the occasional bump and bruise.

But, as nervous as I sometimes feel, I must strive not to convey those feelings to them. Childhood is not the time to worry, there will be plenty of time for that later.

While I feel nervous watching them speeding around, I also feel incredibly proud and joyous. My kids are amazing and constantly surprise and impress me with their abilities. They are always learning new skills and I must remember to learn from them too. And remind myself that life is about living, not worrying. 

Daily Prompt: Nervous

© Neil Hayes and neilsworldofenglish

