A walk with my family and yet again my unsportsmanlike British upbringing is exposed. And the differences between me and my Czech wife and children are shown.

It’s a beautiful day, the sun is shining and it’s finally above zero. There is still plenty of snow around for a bit of fun, but the paths are clear and it is easy to walk again.

Until one stretch of path which doesn’t get the sun. It’s covered in slick, glistening ice and immediately I tense. If I can find some earth and walk along the edge then it is OK. But most of the time I am just looking for something to cling on to. My wife has no problems, it’s just like skating. My kids are having a great time, slipping, sliding and actually enjoying falling over. Oh to be young again!

But they don’t abandon me, my son often comes back to hold my hand and help. So cute, but the last thing I want is to fall and take him down with me. Slowly, but surely I make it to the end and can relax. And tell myself again, I have to do something to improve my balance, somehow. 

© Neil Hayes and neilsworldofenglish

