Last week I was walking my six-year-old son to school, and when we arrived at the front entrance, we saw a black flag flying above the school. Of course, my son asked my why it was there. I explained that, perhaps, someone had died. What first came to mind was someone famous, maybe the president. Honestly I didn’t think of it for the rest of a busy day.

When my wife collected him she was told something shocking. The black flag was flying out of respect for one of his classmates, who had died in hospital the previous evening. His teacher was crying and so were many of the children, as they were told this news.

It is unimaginable, how the parents must be feeling. I didn’t know the little boy. My son was sad, but coping with the news. But, as any parent would understand, you can’t help but imagine yourself in the same situation.

So, all day, my wife and I were hugging our children a little closer. And I was trying to remind myself of how lucky we are, to have two such healthy and happy children. So, if you are lucky like us, hug them and kiss them as much as you can. Don’t take anything for granted, because you never know what is around the corner. 

© Neil Hayes and neilsworldofenglish

