Today was a public holiday and, due to the bad weather, we decided to stay at home. But it wasn’t a wasted day, we got plenty of jobs done, although I think my wife gets the prize for highest productivity.  And I spent the day watching my kids work, play and create together. They form such an amazing team, they never seem to get tired of each other. Obviously there are the occasional arguments, but they are always solved swiftly.

I think the two year age gap has contributed to their closeness, and also to the fact that there is rarely any jealousy between them. It is always interesting to listen to their conversations. Even though they speak to each other in Czech, I understand well enough. And, in some ways, it makes it even more fascinating to listen to them. They are so talkative and are constantly communicating, with each other and with us. There are some times, as every parent knows, when this can become tiring. Everyone needs some peace and quiet sometimes. 

So, maybe some earplugs? No, there will be a time in the future when life will be too quiet, and I will wish for a return to these crazy days. So may they always remain the noisy, lively, energetic maniacs that they are. I love them, and I wouldn’t change them for anything. 

© Neil Hayes and neilsworldofenglish

