Flattery is a wonderful thing. Everyone likes to be told they are good at something. Is there anything nicer than getting a like on your blog post or photograph? Yes, a comment is even better. I am new to blogging and being noticed and appreciated feels amazing. Of course, this can’t be the reason for what you are doing, but…

When flattery goes wrong, is when it is directed at oneself. This seems to be becoming more and more common these days. What is a selfie, if not self flattery? It is amazing how many Instagram accounts just contain one self portrait after another. I don’t know about you, but I don’t think I am that interesting. But, hopefully, what I think is.

So why not spend your time flattering other people? Or maybe even show some appreciation for the world around you. Not just what is in the mirror.

via Daily Prompt: Flattery

© Neil Hayes and neilsworldofenglish

