The beauty of the Czech Republic never fails to amaze me. Everywhere you turn, there is something to see. There are castles and chateaux at every turn, I really only have to drive for thirty minutes and I am in another time. I have never lived in a place with such a ready supply of history.

But apart from the history, there is wonderful nature too. It is true that sometimes I miss British nature, the southern chalk streams of England or the rushing Welsh rivers. But here the variety is astounding. This past weekend, my family and I visited Adršpach Rocks. These are a series of rock formations, many of which are said to resemble people, animals or things. As hard as I try, I can never see it. But my children seem to have no problem, the imagination of a child is a wonderful thing.


One negative about this place is its popularity, there were people everywhere. But we can’t have everything we want, and nature is there for everyone to enjoy. So once I was over the shock, I began to really enjoy myself. I love photography and everywhere I looked there was a shot to be taken. I think sometimes my family get tired of waiting for me. Another hobby of mine is bonsai, and you could really get some inspiration here.


The best thing about these trips is, of course, seeing my children enjoy themselves. They were exhausted, at the end of the day, but so was I. How their little legs keep moving is beyond me, but as long as the fuel keeps going in they are fine.

We really do live in a wonderful world and everyone needs to spend more time appreciating it. Stop and look, and there are many secrets to be discovered. I keep telling myself this, and I think I am getting better at it. But in this country, it really should not be too difficult.

© Neil Hayes and neilsworldofenglish

